Why I Think An Update Is Coming

Most of the time, EA don’t give any kind of advance warning for updates with a few exceptions as of late but that doesn’t mean anything. I have a sneaking suspicion that we might see an update this week, and here’s why;

EA tend to keep to general schedule and by general I mean they just do whatever they want. But one thing I do know is that EA tend to release an App Store update every 2 months. Lets look at a timeline of some of our most recent App Store Updates.

  • December 2013 – Christmas Event
  • February 2014 Valentines Event
  • April 2014 – Easter Event
  • June 2014 – Stonecutters Event

Still not convinced, here’s a look at what 2013 brought via the App Store (up to Halloween)

  • December 2012 – Christmas Event
  • February 2013 – Valentines Event
  • April 2013 – Whacking Day
  • June 2013 – Squidport Expansion
  • August 2013 – Krustyland Expansion
  • October 2013 – Halloween Event

So as you can see, EA have kept with their App Store update schedule. Therefore, it’s only logical that we see an App Store update this month. But, what kind of App Store update should we expect if we were to get one? Well, here’s what I think, I expect that this months update will be an expansion rather then an event.

My thinking is that, August is the month when most people tend to go on a vacation. So, if EA release an event, they run the risk of missing out on a lot of revenue by way of some premium players being unable to purchase limited time items. I for one, don’t think that EA will want to take that risk.

Krustyland is now a who year old and as I mentioned in a post last week, the file the content was in was named a little strangely which could mean that Krustyland 2.0 is on the way but then again, what if it’s not? What if the Krustyland update is meant for further down the line and a there’s something else on the way?

If EA were to release an expansion that’s not Krustyland or Squidport (although still a possibility), I think the next logical step for them to take is an expansion to the other side of the mountains, which are on the left hand side of the screen. But what might they put there? Well the options are endless really. They could put in the Springfield Badlands, incorporate the Springfield Gorge or maybe the big rundown area of town known in the show as East Springfield (I think). It could also be a way for EA to solve the land constraint problems by allowing players to place and and all buildings both current and future buildings in the proposed new area.

If an App Store update were to happen this month, I expect it to be either tomorrow or Wednesday as they are usually the days on which and App Store update were to occur, that and the fact that EA tend to issue these kinds of updates during the first week of the month. I don’t think the current Gil ‘sale’ will have any effect on the update but if it does, they could push the update to next week but only time will tell my friends!

What do you think? What kind of App Store update would you like to see? Please share your thoughts with us in the comment section!

10 thoughts on “Why I Think An Update Is Coming

  1. I want to see an update in the main part of Springfield that gives more land. I also think it would be cool if the update had some content for Simpsons Guy.

  2. I’d like to see an update based around THE COMPUTER WORE MENACE SHOES, which was the epsideo where there was a secret group running think, drug gin Homer and replacing with him a Homer Double (with a german accent).

    One of my favorite episodes.

    If not that, some other desires: Herb, Frank Grimes Jr. (perhaps a hole update built on getting his revenge on Homer?), Monorail, Springfield’s Bordello and a land expansion.

  3. I really want new stuff for the main town and so badly want land , lots of land. Really bored at the moment with nothing to build and no new characters . I would really love it if we had day and night too with the lamposts lit up at night and the windows of the buildings, it would look so cool. And i would like to see a fire station with the firemen outfits i have loads of other ideas too but it would take all night to make a list .

  4. “Run the risk on missing out on a lot of revenue by way of Premium players being unable to purchase limited time items.”
    Im not sure what you are saying here?

  5. I think that Gil’s sale and the yard sale were to get older stuff to sell. I bought the Mayans and Gorgeous Grandpa, I bought Gil’s dumpster, got the Lard Lad with it, which I would not have bought alone, because I like questline. The new premium stuff all have quality story, the old one’s don’t.
    However with another 600 donuts “burning a hole in my pocket” I bought the Sleepeasy (I now only don’t have the Coliseum and the Volcano for building/character combos).
    I am holding on to the rest for a couple weeks to see what else comes, but I am expecting more things to recycle older content before an update.

Leave a Comment?

